How Does “Have You Seen My Daddy’s 18 Wheeler?” Work

1. Cover with Title Cropped29. Truck Pictures

I challenge you to see how many 18 wheelers you can spot while on that interstate travel vacation.  Don’t forget, it’s easier to spot an 18 wheeler than that missing license plate from Kansas (although I did see it, too ! !)  Here is how the challenge works:

“Have You Seen My Daddy’s 18 Wheeler?” is a book with 96 trucks.  I used it on a trip between Crystal Lake and Springfield, Illinois, a trip of 29 miles on I-90, 130 miles on I-39 and 69 miles on I-55 plus a few miles at either end on local roads.  Of course I made a round trip, so I was on the road for a total of about 8 hours, driving 456 miles on these three interstates.

During the drive down and back, I saw hundreds of 18 wheelers, and I spotted 26 of the 94 listed in the book.  These 26 trucks were worth 54,220 points.

As you can see, it’s easy to get a lot of points, but it is much more difficult to spot a large amount of different trucking companies.  Why?  – – don’t forget, two of the firms, Swift Transportation and Schneider International account for 37,105 points of the 54,220.  And, to top it off, Swift has now joined with Central Refrigerated so, just by themselves, they have a combined 17,750.  It’s real easy to spot a combination of either tractor with either trailer.

Here is the way my score sheet looks.  If you think you can do better, contact me at russkingassoc@aol.com and order “Have You Seen My Daddy’s 18 Wheeler?” (Come on- it only costs 10 bucks, plus shipping! !) and keep your own record.  Then let me know how you do – I’m really interested.

Trip on March 25-28 To Springfield_Page_1Trip on March 25-28 To Springfield_Page_2

Leave a Reply

